First Look

Best-of-the-Best in Tourism Industry vie for TSEP 2011 Awards

Ministry of Tourism | 2012-11-21 00:00:00

Twelve of the island’s top tourism workers and 13 leading organizations are now vying for coveted awards for excellent service delivery under the Tourism Service Excellence Programme (TSEP), administered by the Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCo). The 2011 Tourism Service Excellence Awards for overall champions in both the ‘individual’ and ‘organization’ categories will be presented on December 8, 2012 during an awards ceremony at the Ritz Carlton Golf and Spa Resort, St. James.

The proud finalists in this the fourth staging of the competition were announced yesterday, November 20, during a presentation ceremony at the Wyndham Kingston Hotel. In the individual category, the finalists representing the tourism capital, Montego Bay are Laurel Scarlett-France and Nerine Ennis, both of The Ritz Carlton, and Robert Stone of Sandals Montego Bay while Pierre Battaglia of Couples San Souci, Strickland Smith and Craig Clarke both of Sandals Grande Riviera will represent the Ocho Rios region.

The hopes of the South Coast will be carried by Jeffrey Burke of Sandals Whitehouse. The finalists representing Kingston are Barrington Steer of the Jamaica Union of Travelers’ Association, JUTA, and Maudrie Swaby-Rose of the Wyndham Kingston Hotel. The Negril region will be represented by Tannif Turner of Breezes Grande, Winston Bartley of Hedonism II and Annetta Downer of Beaches Negril.

Sandals Montego Bay, Braemar Tours and Round Hill Hotel are the companies representing the Montego Bay region in the organization category. Mystic Mountain will be representing the Ocho Rios region while GeeJam will represent the Portland region. Sandals Whitehouse and the Two Seasons Guest House are the companies representing the South Coast while from the Negril region the companies are Rondel Village, Beaches Negril and Sandals Negril. The Courtleigh Hotel, the Spanish Court Hotel and the Passport Immigration and Citizenship Agency (PICA) are the finalists from the Kingston region.

In commending the finalists, State Minister for Tourism and Entertainment, the Hon. Damion Crawford, said “the government has long recognized that providing a high level of primary and secondary level services is the basis on which Jamaica can be highly competitive because of the economies of scale. It is those that are in services and the delivery of services that embody the competitive advantage needed to carry our nation to the next level.”

Chairman of TPDCo, Maxine Henry-Wilson, expressed that the agency “aims through the TSEP to have Jamaica’s tourism industry consistently served by highly skilled, motivated, customer-service-oriented employees who all share accountability for a wondrous guest experience.” Acting Executive Director of TPDCo, Gairy Taylor noted that the standard of the competition continues to improve. He said “based on the feedback that we received about this year’s finalists, we may have surpassed last year’s achievements - an indication that our workers are improving by leaps and bounds.”

 The Tourism Service Excellence Awards are conferred on the country's leading individuals and organizations for service excellence using a holistic approach which emphasizes the development of service capability to enhance service leadership, service agility, and customer delight. Last year’s national winners were Lyndsay Isaacs of Beaches Boscobel, and Chukka Caribbean Adventures in the organization category.


Posted By :

Company Name : Ministry of Tourism

Website :

Company Address :

More press release from Ministry of Tourism