First Look

Education Minister names Special Advisory Committee to Arbitrate UTech Impasse

Ministry of Education | 2013-10-29 00:00:00

Education Minister Ronald Thwaites today (October 29) announced the establishment of a Special Advisory Committee to enquire into the impasse between staff unions and the administration at UTech.

The Special Advisory Committee is headed by Ambassador Derrick Heaven, chairman of the Sugar Industry Authority, and includes Hon. Shirley Tyndale, former Financial Secretary; Dr Kofi Nkrumah Young, Vice President Planning and Operations at UTech; and Mrs Olabusola Akinladejo, president of the University of Technology Academic Staff Association.

The Education Minister established the Special Advisory Committee under the provisions of the Education Act, 1965. The Committee shall be responsible to the Minister for the following:

-To review operations at the institution and in particular, to enquire into matters relating to the current impasse between Administration and Staff at the institution; 

-To advise the Minister and make recommendations for further action in respect of the resolution of the impasse, and such other matters within its ambit as it deems appropriate. 

Prior to the setting up of the special committee, Minister Thwaites had asked the Ministry of Finance and Planning as well as the Auditor General to review issues related to governance and financial management that had been brought to the Ministry’s attention.


Posted By :Sheryl bromfield

Company Name : Ministry of Education

Website :

Company Address : 2-4 National Heroes Circle Kingston 4, Jamaica

More press release from Ministry of Education