First Look

OAS Donates Firearms Marking Machines to El Salvador

Organization of American States (OAS) | 2012-04-12 16:00:00

The Organization of American States (OAS) today donated three firearms marking machines and three computers to the Government of El Salvador to be used by the Ministry of National Defense of that country to improve its capacity to combat illicit arms trafficking.

The donation, which complements the equipment provided by the Organization in 2011, is part of the project "Promoting Firearms Marking in Latin America and the Caribbean", an initiative funded by the U.S. government that aims to strengthen national capacity to mark weapons in the countries of the hemisphere. The project is part of the Inter-American Convention against Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Ammunition, Explosives and Other Related Materials (CIFTA), which seeks to strengthen national capacities in this area.

Through this and other initiatives, the OAS seeks to promote efforts to strengthen the Member States’ capabilities to respond promptly and efficiently to the rising levels of crime and violence generated by firearms trafficking.

The OAS Representative in El Salvador, Ronalth Ochaeta, explained that the organization cooperates with the countries of the region to institute policies and legislation to mark firearms at the time of manufacture and import. "We are here today to support their efforts in combating illicit trafficking in firearms," ​​he said.

The equipment will allow the development of a process that makes firearms permanently identifiable with information such as serial number, caliber, model and manufacturing site. This is an essential step to help authorities identify the guns recovered at crime scenes, determine their origin and identify trafficking routes and traffickers.

AS of today, 20 other countries in the region are also part of this initiative including: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bahamas, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Lucia , Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at

Posted By :Organization of American States (OAS)

Company Name : Organization of American States (OAS)

Website :

Company Address :

More press release from Organization of American States (OAS)